PDA

View Full Version : Got home last night, and the computer was dead...



Hedron
07-12-2004, 09:32 AM
There was a power failure while I was away for the weekend. My new computer (muh baby!) is unresponsive. Nothing happens when the power switch is hit.

Suggestions on an order in which to trouble shoot and eliminate possibilities?

Hed

XENONIX
07-12-2004, 09:42 AM
Check your power supply. They usually take the blow of a power surge- and are relatively cheap to replace.

Oh and.. you didn't blow a fuse-box breaker did you? There is power at the socket? heh

Tezbiros
07-12-2004, 10:10 AM
It's silly but make sure you have turned the switch on the power supply off/on. That will reset the overload protection.

Ericcorp
07-12-2004, 10:22 AM
First: Outside the PC
1) Check the outlet. Plug a lamp in and see if you have power

2) Make sure that your surge protector (rabbit strip or whatever you have it not blown)

Second: Inside the PC
Does anything happen at all? No fans? Nothing?

1) Make sure the powersupply is switched on in the back

2) Check the powersupply for voltage output (with a Voltmeter if you have one, or if you have a couple PCs or an extra supply, just swap them and check)

If the powersupply is not bad, then you're looking at maybe a new mother board, which is rare, but if the PS isn't the perpetrator, then it's probably the MB. Let me know if you need to buy a new one, I can help.

2)

Fitz70992
07-12-2004, 10:50 AM
Make sure the circut in you circut box isnt out.

Look for a reset button on your power outlet panels. This happened to me once, the power flickered on/off. It came back on and everything was working except my computer. I hit the nifty little red reset button, power flickered in that room, and the computer worked.

Flymo
07-12-2004, 11:17 AM
HIT IT!

Azmodion
07-12-2004, 11:27 AM
Do like my wife does, run it over with a vacuum cleaner... oh wait, that's how she breaks them when she's mad at me, nevermind ;x

Faust
07-12-2004, 11:53 AM
Do like my wife does, run it over with a vacuum cleaner... oh wait, that's how she breaks them when she's mad at me, nevermind ;x

lol. That sounds like a casaul loop to me, Asmo.



(i.e. she's mad at you for not vacuuming)

Hedron
07-12-2004, 12:03 PM
I did the obvious stuff.


There is power to the power strip. Other systems are powered from it.


I switched the power supply switch on and off. Button on the front does nothing either.


Power supply fan does not come on either (along with the rest of the computer).

Tezbiros
07-12-2004, 12:12 PM
Time to buy a power supply.

I suggest one of the Antec True Power series.

Swap it out. Hope it was not your Mother Board.

If it is the Mother Board. Get a new one and be happy you now have a power supply that won't let your Mother Board get fried

Newbold
07-12-2004, 01:24 PM
It's a new comp? Do you have any type of warranty? If so tell them it just happened. Don't mention the outage.

Drach
07-12-2004, 01:39 PM
Dude you should have bought a Dell!

Hedron
07-12-2004, 02:14 PM
Yah, it's new. It's under warranty.


I think it's an Enermax ps...?

Newbold
07-12-2004, 07:44 PM
If its under warranty, dont buy shit. Have them fix it then add the new components. Better to have two working PSU's then one.

Caedis
07-13-2004, 01:31 AM
I always unplug my machine when leaving for more than a day.

malhavok
07-13-2004, 01:45 AM
Yea, if it's under warranty send that bitch back.

If you have an AMD processor, make SURE you get an "AMD approved" power supply (or make sure THEY put an "AMD approved" one in). I had a minor anuerysm with a bad power supply for my amd rig. Can't use Bob's Power Supply Co. for AMD's...picky bitchs. =/

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/DevelopWithAMD/0,,30_2252_869_1039%5E4038,00.html

Enermax is on Teh List, so you should be cooh.

Noodulz
07-13-2004, 08:47 AM
Heck just sniff around the power supply... smell burning metal? NOT GOOD! Had this happen to me once, i got lucky and just had to buy a new PS (went ahead and got new case+PS since it's not much more than just a PS). It's not too hard to put your stuff in a new case if the PS is the prob, just make sure you know where all your power switch, HD led, reset switch etc plugs go on the MB. Case & motherboard are like 50 bucks tops for basic ones.

Tezbiros
07-13-2004, 10:04 AM
If you spend $50 on a case and power supply get used to replacing the power supply often.

Xenomorph
07-13-2004, 11:27 AM
If you spend $50 on a case and power supply get used to replacing the power supply often.

spent $58 on my moded case includeing neon light, have had it for over a year now with no problems. It's just a matter if you do your homework before you buy :twisted:

McGilla
07-13-2004, 04:31 PM
Hedron, that sucks, do you have a burn smell, look at you motherboard, is there any obvious discoloration, i hope not, Good luck.

Hedron
07-13-2004, 06:30 PM
Nah, no discoloration, no burn smell. I confirmed that the powersupply won't power up by shorting the power plug. So they're sending me a new power supply (I hope that's all that is fucked), but it won't be here for like 3 or 4 days.


And this old computer is fucking KILLING me.


Hed

Corkorle
07-13-2004, 06:52 PM
Dude, you should have gotten a Dell!!!

Bahaha

McGilla
07-13-2004, 11:03 PM
FUCK the Dell, they suck!!!!! Only you Corkorle would get a Dell.

Corkorle
07-14-2004, 12:23 PM
I've had mine longer than Hed and have had no problems! Except for the mouse thing but that fixed itself! + Logitech sent me another mouse so i have 2 MX510s :P

Flymo
07-14-2004, 01:03 PM
:oops: